Nigeria's President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

According to a statement signed by Femi Adesina who is a Special Adviser to the President (Media and Publicity), those nvolved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.

The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.

Nigerians from all works of life have for many years been calling for the sack of the service chiefs following the inability of the nation's security apparatus to put an end to the insurgency that has been bedevilling the country for more than a decade on which promises Buhari rode to power in 2015. 

Rather than ending the Boko Haram insurgence, the country hàs witness more killings from another emerging terrorists groups such as FULANI Herdsmen and banditary as well as the military itself inform of Lekki tollgate massacre in Lagos and the Shiites killing in Kaduna among many others.

No comments

Poster Speaks

Poster Speaks/box