Nigeria: These are 18 Parties That Survive INEC's Axe Ahead Of 2023 General Election, 74 Deregistered

The Nigeria's Electoral Body (INEC) de-registered 74 political parties in the country, allowing 18 parties on its recognised register list ahead of 2023 general election.

According to the INEC, the deregistered political parties will not participate in any future subsequent elections in the country.

The Independent Natonal electoral commission (INEC) said the deregistered party did not satisfy the requirements of the fourth alteration to the constitution.

The electoral umpire added that the Action Peoples Party (APP) filed a suit in court and obtained an order restraining the commission from deregistering it, "consequently, the party remains registered pending the determination of the case by the court."

The Eighteen recognised political parties in the country are now the All Progressives Congress (APC), Peoples Democratic Party(PDP, Accord (A), Action Alliance (AA), African Action Congress (AAC), African Democratic Congress (ADC), Action Democratic Party(ADP, All Progressives Grand Alliance(APGA), Allied People's Movement(APM), Labour Party(LP) and New Nigeria People's Party (NNPP).

Others are: National Rescue Movement (NRM), Peoples Redemption Party (PRP), Social Democratic Party (SDP), Young Progressive Party(YPP), Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), Boot Party (BP) and Action People's Party (APP).

The deregistered parties are Advanced Allied Party, All Blending Party, Advanced Congress Of Democrats, Allied Congress Party Of Nigeria, Alliance For Democracy, All Grassroots Alliance, All Grand Alliance Party, Advanced Nigeria, Democratic Party, Alliance For New Nigeria, Alliance National Party, Abundant Nigeria Renewal Party, African People Alliance, Advanced People’s Democratic Alliance, Alternative Party Of Nigeria, Alliance Of Social Democrats, Alliance For A United Nigeria, Better Nigeria Progressive Party, Change Advocacy Party, Coalition For Change, Change Nigeria Party, Congress Of Patriots, Democratic Alternative, Democratic People’s Congress, Democratic People’s Party, Fresh Democratic Party, Freedom And Justice Party, Grassroots Development Party Of Nigeria, Green Party Of Nigeria, Hope Democratic Party, Independent Democrats, Justice Must Prevail Party, Kowa Party, Liberation Movement, Legacy Party Of Nigeria, Mass Action Joint Alliance and Modern Democratic Party.

Others are Masses Movement Of Nigeria, Mega Party Of Nigeria, Movement For The Restoration And Defence Of Democracy, National Action Council, Nigeria Community Movement Party, National Conscience Party, Nigeria Democratic Congress Party, National Democratic Liberty Party, Nigeria Elements Progressive Party, Nigeria For Democracy, New Generation Party Of Nigeria, National Interest Party, Nigeria People’s Congress, New Progressive Movement, National Unity Party, People’s Coalition Party, People For Democratic Change, People’s Democratic Movement, Progressive People’s Alliance, Providence People's Congress, People’s Party Of Nigeria, People’s Progressive Party, People's Trust, Reform And Advancement Party, Re-Build Nigeria Party, Restoration Party Of Nigeria, Save Nigeria Congress, Sustainable National Party, Socialist Party Of Nigeria, United Democratic Party, United Patriots, United People’s Congress, Unity Party Of Nigeria, United Progressive Party, We The People Nigeria, Young Democratic Party, Yes Electorates Solidarity and Youth Party.

Chairman of INEC, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu

While addressing a press conference in Abuja, INEC chairman Mahmood Yakubu said the parties failed to meet constitutional requirements that determine the continuous existence of political parties in the country.

Yakubu said the deregistered parties breached their requirements for registration because they failed to win at least 2596 of votes cast in any of the States of the federation during the Presidential election, adding that since their existence, they did not win one local government of a state in a governorship election.

According to INEC, deregistered political parties failed to win at least one ward in the chairmanship elections in local governments.

Some also failed to win one seat in the National or State House of Assembly election or one seat In a Councillorshlp election since they were registered.

INEC boss stated that section 225A of Nigeria’s constitution empowers INEC to register and deregister political parties in the country.

De-registration of the 74 parties from Nigeria's 92 political parties reduced INEC’s recognised political parties to 18 for future elections.

No comments

Poster Speaks

Poster Speaks/box